Boys basketball: Tartan holds annual boys basketball awards

On March 27, the Tartan boys basketball team gathered one more time to celebrate a very successful season.

In addition to varsity cagers celebrating their 23-7 record, Section 4AAAA championship and brief trip to the 2014 state tournament, the Tartan JV team, the “B” squad and the freshman teams were in attendance to receive awards.

Each player from each team was called forth by his coach to be recognized.

Things are looking good for the Tartan varsity down the road as the JV team posted a mark of 21-5, the “B” squad went 21-5 and the freshmen posted an overall 17-4.

Combined with the varsity, that’s a cumulative record of 82-21 by the four teams.

It’s ‘good people’

The varsity Titans went 12-4 in the Classic Suburban Conference and finished second. They went on to win the Section 4/4A title, downing number one seed Woodbury by a score of 90-78 in a game in which they never trailed.

This was the 17th straight season in which the Titans, under the tutelage of head coach Mark Klingsporn, have won 20 or more games.

Coach Klingsporn, in his statement to the assembled parents and players, praised his coaching staff and said, “I make a firm attempt to surround myself with good, solid basketball people. I know that I have done that this season and our records affirm that.”

Klingsporn then singled out his assistant for the past 12 season, Bill Fetsch, as “a good example of what I mean by having good people to work with.”

Both Klingsporn and Fetsch are former Tartan players.

Following the announcements and comments about each player as they stepped forward to receive their Tartan letter and other tokens of the season, special awards were given for various achievements by the squad this past season.

Hartman award

First up was an award given in honor of former Tartan principal Larry Hartman. It is the Academic Award earned this year by Jake Lyle (11) for maintaining a GPA of 3.9.

Perhaps more special to the players are those awards given after a vote by their peers. One such award is given for the Most Improved Player and that went to senior John Jenkins.

Next came the Erik Crawford Award -- named for a former player -- for the Best Defensive Player. This was earned by Eric Winter.

The next three awards were earned by compiling the statistics for the season. Earning the Leading Scoring for an average of 11.6 per game was Keenen Bellaphant.

Earning the Most Assists Award was ninth grader Jordan Horn and the Kit Carson Award for the Most Rebounds per game was garnered by Brody Jackson.

The Dave Lande Award -- Lande was a former parent who assisted the Tartan program by developing community youth programs -- which is given to the player deemed Most Dedicated, was presented to senior Marlon McCoy.

The final award is given in honor of Jake Sullivan who holds the career point total record for Tartan boys basketball of 3,013 and is given to the Tartan player deemed Most Valuable Player by his teammates.

The 2014 Tartans boys basketball MVP was earned by senior Tommy Hanson.

Next came the announcement of All-Conference: Eric Winter, Tommy Hanson and Kennen Bellaphant, and AC Honorable Mention: Jordan Horn and Brody Jackson.

The evening concluded with the naming of captains for the 2014-15 season. They are Ben Nistler, Jake Lyle and Jordan Horn.

Wally Wakefield can be reached at


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here