Candidates determined for primary election

Candidate filing for federal, state, county and some local offices closed on May 31. The primary election takes place on Aug. 9 and general election is Nov. 8. 

The following candidates have filed for elective offices in the Review coverage area.


U.S. Congressional District 4

Incumbent Betty McCollum, DFL

Steve Carlson, DFL

Susan Pendergast Sindt, Legal Marijuana Now

Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey, GOP

Gene Rechtzigel, GOP

Greg Ryan, GOP


State Senate District 43

Incumbent Charles “Chuck” Wiger, DFL

Chris Belflower, Independence

Bob Zick, GOP


State Senate District 53

Incumbent Susan Kent, DFL

Bill Dahn, GOP

Sharna Wahlgren, GOP


State Senate District 39

Incumbent Karin Housley, GOP

Sten Hakanson, DFL


State House District 43A

Incumbent Peter M. Fischer, DFL

Bob Cardinal, GOP


State House District 43B

Incumbent Leon M. Lillie, DFL

Nathan Hansen, GOP


State House District 53A

Incumbent JoAnn Ward, DFL

Andy Turonie, GOP


State House District 39B

Incumbent Kathy Lohmer, GOP

Alan Kantrud, DFL


Ramsey County Commission
District 7

Incumbent Victoria A. Reinhardt

Kim Points


Washington County Commission District 2

*Special election to fill out the late Commissioner Ted Bearth’s term, which ends in 2018. 

Cheryl Anderson

Edward Byrne

Joseph T. Delaney

Stan Karwoski

John W. McPhillips

Jeremy Olson


North St. Paul and Oakdale
city council seats

Because no primary will be held for the two city council seats in North St. Paul and the two city council seats in Oakdale, candidate filings will open Tuesday, Aug. 2, and close Tuesday, Aug. 16. 

In North St. Paul, the terms of Tom Sonnek and Jan Walczak are expiring at the end of 2016. The two Oakdale seats that are up for election this November are occupied by Kristen Cici and Paul Reinke.


Aundrea Kinney can be reached at 651-748-7822 or

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here