Community service award presentation

Members of the public are invited to attend the presentation of the second annual Garold “Jerry” Murphy Community Service Award on May 15 at 7 p.m., during the Mendota Heights City Council meeting. 

The purpose of the award is to recognize individuals who have been selected as outstanding volunteers in the community, in the spirit of the contributions of long-time Police Reserve Jerry Murphy.

This year’s winners are Cindy Johnson, Sue Light, and Ron Katzenmaier.  
Johnson and Light have served as Dakota County Master Gardeners. They have been offering their expertise to the city since 2013, assisting city staff in the implementation of numerous pollinator friendly activities and protocols.
Katzenmaier served the city for 17 years as a member of the Fire Department. Katzenmaier led the fire prevention and education activities of the fire department, and now serves as Captain of the Fire Reserves.

A reception honoring the recipients will be held from 6 to 7 p.m. that evening in the lobby of City Hall, 1101 Victoria Curve.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here