Candidates file for municipal offices, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, Arden Hills, Mounds View

The filing period for offices in municipalities without a primary election closed on Tuesday, Aug. 12.

The cities of Shoreview, Vadnais Heights and Mounds View all have the same ballot openings; each has a two-year term mayoral seat and two four-year term council seats up for election.

Arden Hills has a mayoral and two council seats up for election; all are four-year terms.


Shoreview voters will have several city council candidates to choose from this fall, as five people, all men, have filed for office.

Incumbent mayor Sandy Martin will run unopposed.

Both incumbent council members Terry Quigley and Ben Withhart have filed for re-election.

In alphabetical order, their challengers for city council seats are: Douglas Blomberg, Michael Iwerks and Cory Springhorn.

Vadnais Heights

In a slate of mainly unopposed mayors running in Ramsey County cities, Vadnais Heights is one of only two races where two candidates will vie for one mayoral seat. North St. Paul is the other.

Incumbent mayor Marc Johannsen will face opposition from newcomer Greg Urban, who currently chairs the city's planning commission.

Incumbent council members Joe Murphy and Terry Nyblom both filed for re-election; challengers Dan Anderson and Bob Fletcher have also filed for the seats.

Arden Hills

Each of the candidates for Arden Hills' expiring seats will run unopposed. Incumbent mayor David Grant and incumbent council member Fran Holmes have filed for re-election; former mayor and council member Robert Woodburn has filed for the seat currently held by Ed Werner. Werner did not file for re-election.

Mounds View

The candidates for Mounds View city council are all incumbents who will run unopposed.

Incumbent mayor Joe Flaherty and council members Al Hull and Carol Mueller have all filed for re-election.


Look for more in-depth coverage of each of the candidates in an upcoming edition of the Bulletin before the Nov. 4 general election.

For more information about the candidates, visit Ramsey County Elections online at

-- Johanna Holub


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here